MDT UDI Wizard won’t update

Well I finally got a good image of Windows 10 with my custom settings yesterday so now it was on to iron out my deploy task sequence for SCCM integrated with MDT 2013.  I was working on getting my existing UDIWizard_Config.xml files from my MDT 2013 toolkit files for Windows 10 to work with MDT 2013 Update 2.  Why create an entire new file when you can simply reuse my wizard settings as I have a lot of custom settings for OU’s and such.  It seemed that no matter what I did it held onto the old settings and wouldn’t update.  Finally through a mention in a technet forum I discovered that the applications in the install programs page in the wizard caused it to fail and use the old UDIWizard_Config.xml from before.  So I simply deleted all my software in the wizard and re-validated the site settings with configuration manager and then went in and clicked update distribution points.  Eureka, upon pxe booting all my new settings were there. Goes to show what I get for reusing UDI Wizard settings.  So yes you can reuse your UDI wizard settings from previous MDT Versions but proceed with caution.

snip_20160524102205

Leave a Reply

